Breath Alcohol Training
The Department of Forensic Science provides training to law enforcement personnel enforcing Commonwealth of Virginia Driving Under the Influence statutes (e.g., § 18.2-266 and § 18.2-266.1). Training is limited to personnel authorized by law enforcement agencies as outlined in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The initial training is approximately 3 days in length.
- Directions to Biotech 8 (.pdf, 12.83 KB)
- January through March 2024 Basic (Initial) Class Schedule (.pdf, 96.77 KB)
- October through December 2023 Basic (Initial) Class Schedule (.pdf, 95.69 KB)
Retraining courses are required every two years to maintain licensure. The Breath Alcohol Section will notify the law enforcement agency approximately eight weeks prior to the class. Courses are offered at varying locations across the Commonwealth and are 4 hours in length.
Please contact the Breath Alcohol Section if additional assistance is required.
- Phone: 804.786.6971
- Fax: 804.786.6139